Thought of the Day

Thought Of The Day: Tuesday, May 2, 2023

This quote is from William Shakespeare’s play “Henry VI, Part 2” and is spoken by a character named Dick the Butcher. The full quote is “The first thing we do, let’s kill all the lawyers,” and it is often misunderstood.

In the context of the play, the line is spoken by a character who is part of a group of rebels who seek to overthrow the government and establish a new order. The character suggests that by getting rid of lawyers, they can eliminate those who are responsible for upholding the law and preserving the current order.

However, the quote is often misinterpreted as a suggestion that lawyers are somehow untrustworthy or corrupt. This interpretation is incorrect and oversimplifies the complex role that lawyers play in society. In fact, lawyers are essential to maintaining a fair and just legal system that protects the rights of individuals and ensures that the law is applied equally to all.

Overall, the quote is a reflection of the character’s desire to create chaos and disrupt the existing order, rather than a serious suggestion that lawyers should be eliminated.

Don’t forget to check out our collection of thoughts of the day with meaning to brighten your day.

Related posts

Thought of the Day: Friday, March 31, 2023

Team Motivational Wizard

Thought of the Day: Tuesday, February 28, 2023

Team Motivational Wizard

Thought Of The Day: Monday, October 09, 2023

Team Motivational Wizard

Thought Of The Day: Sunday, September 24, 2023

Motivational Wizard Team

Thought of the Day: Wednesday, July 5, 2023

Team Motivational Wizard

Thought Of The Day: Thursday, December 07, 2023

Team Motivational Wizard

Thought Of The Day: Friday, February 09, 2024

Team Motivational Wizard

Thought of the Day: Thursday, March 16, 2023

Team Motivational Wizard

Thought Of The Day: Wednesday, December 06, 2023

Team Motivational Wizard